menu
announcement

Spectrum is now read-only. Learn more about the decision in our official announcement.

Theia

Eclipse Theia - Cloud & Desktop IDE

Channels
Team

How do I open the preview panel?

May 5, 2020 at 6:04pm

How do I open the preview panel?

May 5, 2020 at 6:04pm
Show previous messages

May 5, 2020 at 10:27pm
I'll look
It says it should work now. Any idea why it wouldn't?
Edited
I think based on the error message it is due to increased security, the comment on the issue was likely written before security updates. If I’m mistaken perhaps others can chime in.
Oh that's unfortunate.

May 6, 2020 at 8:04am
many websites does not allow embedding because of security issues, so it is expected
main use case for mini-browser it is to preview changes to a app or some html files on which you are working on

May 6, 2020 at 9:41pm
i understand that it is only for html/css and markdown files but is it possible to somehow access localhost on it?
because the example I first posted they got it to work.

May 7, 2020 at 6:32am
localhost always points to your local machine, you should use the remote address
Theia is generally using https://github.com/eclipse-theia/theia/blob/c2ffdc71b63ddd761f6a1d2903d7dd9c05f14466/packages/core/src/browser/external-uri-service.ts#L46 to remap localhost to external URI, but I don't think it is used by the mini browser.
Do you know how to auto remap localhost to externally accessible URL for the mini browser?

May 7, 2020 at 2:58pm
I'm running the yarn version of theia in a docker container cause im not sure how to make the ui work for the image. So I don't really know what the public ip would be.

May 11, 2020 at 7:00am
I thought that one can expose Theia from docker container on the localhost when you start Theia you can pass --hostname=0.0.0.0 to deploy it on all interfaces and then you start a container something like --expose 3000 -p 3000:3000. The latter should expose a port and remap it on port 3000.
Ok. I switched to the docker image. Haven't tried anything yet.